A.E.t.U.

Ask EdtheUmp an Umpiring Question

With 25 years of umpire experience at the Division I, small college and high school level of baseball,  RoxWalkOff’s EdtheUmp can help clear up some misconceptions on rules, plays and general umpire responsibilities.

Any subject or questions are encouraged.  Just scroll to the bottom to ask your question in the comments section.


PREVIOUS QUESTIONS & ANSWERS (newest Q/A on top)

[qa]

44 Comments

    • jaredean

      May 16, 2012

      Hey all, welcome to the “Ask EdTheUmp” section. Feel free to use it for good or evil!

      Ask your questions below and periodically I am moving the completed questions and answers above to keep this page clean.

      Reply
    • Mr. Peabody

      May 19, 2012

      Ed,
      A recent news story caught my attention. “Balkin” Bob Davidson was suspended for one game, as was the Phillies manager. BD had repeatedly not acted to defuse situations (arguments), according to the league. I assume he was warned, maybe more than once.

      I’ve never heard of an umpire being suspended in the majors before. Have you? If so, when? Any other comments?

      (Side note – I saw a gentleman at the Denver DMV this week who looked a whole lot like you, but didn’t ask who he was. Did I miss a chance to meet you and express appreciation for your RWO posts in person?)

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        May 20, 2012

        Wally aka Mr. Peabody(and I’m not referencing the Rockie and Bullwinkle show…only the REAL OLD guys know to who I am refering).

        First off…no, that was not me you saw. I knew that instantly when you used the term “gentleman.”

        As for your inquiry…I’m sure that it has happened a few times before but can only recall one other as I was present when it happened. In San Diego, during the “run” in 2007, Milton Bradley and the first base umpire(whose name eludes me)got into a shouting match which ultimately led to the umpire being suspended for the playoffs in which he was scheduled to work later that season.

        Reply
        • jeem

          June 7, 2012

          Rocky + Bullwinkle! The honorable Mr Rocket J Squirrel.

          Proof there was medical marijuana in the ’60’s.

          Reply
    • ProgMatinee

      May 29, 2012

      What do you think about this?

      Not the particular call, but Jim Leyland’s comments regarding the media and umpires.

      http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mlb-big-league-stew/leyland-begs-media-umpires-accountable-bad-calls-115005638.html

      Personally, I’ve been asking this for years. IMO, Umpires should be REQUIRED to speak to the media after every game. 99% of the games will be really easy and non-controversial, but they should be accessible and accountable regardless. Short of that happening, though I dislike Leyland, I have to agree with him here. The media needs to call it for what it is. Do we blame them for the loss? Probably not, but don’t sweep it under the rug either.

      Reply
      • edtheump

        May 30, 2012

        I’m with you Prog.

        I’ve always thought that if we are getting paid to do a job and we screw it up, we umps should admit it and be willing to talk about it.(Remember Jim Joyce?…there is a reason his is the #1 rated umpire in baseball. Remember his remarks regarding his missed call at first? Class, all the way.)

        One of the best memories I have regarding coaches and umpires(basketball and football included)were comments by coaches and their relationship with me. It goes something like this:

        “I liked Ed(or any other game official…just using me as an example)as an ump because he was approachable and easy to discuss a play with. On occasion, he also admitted that he may have missed the call for one reason or another…I knew he wasn’t going to change the call but his being honest about the play made it easier to swallow the decision, right or wrong. It’s a part of the game.”

        As far as the Leyland matter, I have no idea if the HP ump asked for any help. We NEVER miss a call on purpose, but we certainly miss plays…we see it all the time on TV.

        If nothing came of the goof, Leyland would have said “it’s part of the game” and moved on.

        But since it had an impact on the outcome(notice I said impact…people can talk until they’re blue in the face, but no single call causes a game to be won or lost, even if it’s the last play of the game…a myriad of plays happen during the contest which affect the ebb and flow and outcome)he simply vented his frustration to the media.

        It’s what managers and coaches do(I believe a lot of times it’s to show the owners, players and fans that he is really “into the game to win”).

        Leyland has been around long enough to know that umps miss calls.

        It’s “part of the game.”

        Hope that helps Prog.

        Reply
    • Miketober

      July 13, 2012

      Hi Ed, I’ve got a good one for you.

      Runner on first, 1 out.
      Batter hits a sharp ground ball to the right side. The runner jumps over the ball, so it initially misses him. However, the 2B-man can’t field it cleanly. It bounces off the 2B-man’s leg and deflects back in to the runner.
      The umpire calls the runner out for being struck by a hit ball. Right call?

      The way the umpire explained it, if it’s off part of the field (the 1B bag or a wall) then the runner is not out if struck. But if it’s off a defensive player then he is out. That doesn’t seem logical to me.

      Thanks!

      Reply
      • Miketober

        July 13, 2012

        Aha! The plot thickens! In the actual game, not only was the runner called out, but the fielder managed to pick up the ball and step on first ahead of the batter/runner. So it was called a double play.

        But I just read this:
        “When a runner is called out for being hit by a fair batted ball, the batter gets first base. All other runners remain at the base they held at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance by the batter being awarded first base.”

        So even if the runner was out, it should not have gone for a DP. Do you agree?

        Reply
        • EdtheUmp

          July 14, 2012

          Mtbr…
          You are correct, sir. No double play. The out at first should have stood up except the ump erred by not killing the ball.

          The defensive team gets 2 outs for making an error…hmm…that could set baseball back 100 years or more.

          Man, oh man, I can imagine this play will be discussed for some time.

          Sometimes the umps are the most clueless on the field…in little league, that is.

          Keep ’em coming.

          Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        July 14, 2012

        Miketober…
        You sure come up with some dandy plays.
        First off, I sure hope this play happened at a little league game and not some HS or college game. The ump sounds like he was trying to come to a logical ruling without having the vaguest clue of what the real ruling should have been.

        The runner is NOT out in your first paragraph scenario. Once the ball passes under(or anywhere for that matter)the runner his liability is over. NOTHING that happens after the ball passes him can cause him to be called out by being hit with the ball.

        As for your second paragraph and his explanation for being hit with a batted ball, he IS out if it deflects off any bag(any bag, including home plate) if he is touched in fair territory(a bunted ball with the batter having at least one foot still in the batter’s box is simply ruled a dead ball(foul ball if you’d like)…the second part will never happen…the ball has to be a fair ball and by definition the ball would have passed him if it hit a wall and then him(I can’t even fathom how this could possibly happen).

        Hope thaty helps with your first question…next question/answer after lunch.

        Good one, MTBR

        Reply
    • Special Ed

      July 25, 2012

      Ed, this is entirely off the radar and simply a fun silly post.

      But I AM curious if you would agree with the rules interpretation of Major League Baseball Rule 6.08(b) at the end. This article is called “Relativistic Baseball” and answers the question.. “What happens if you hit a baseball thrown at 90% of the speed of light?”

      And yes, it’s a question that no rockies pitcher is expected to approach in the near future.

      If you have sat through a rockies game this year, you’ve probably been so disappointed as to ask stupider questions… so I thought it might be fun to post.

      http://what-if.xkcd.com/1/

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        August 7, 2012

        The laws of physics say the ball must “rebound” off the bat at 89%…thus, it will be exiting slower than when it was arriving.

        Of course, I’m probably mistaken since I don’t know “jack-shit” about physics.

        Reply
    • Miketober

      September 16, 2012

      Ed, I’ve got a question regarding the runner’s right to initiate contact with the catcher in a Little League level game.

      Runner on third, tries to steal home in a kids game. The defender throws home and beats the runner home by several feet. When the catcher receives the ball he is a good 5-6 feet up the line. He applies the tag, but the runner runs through his glove, knocking the ball out, and crosses home plate without sliding. The umpire calls the runner out anyway, ruling that at this level the runner has to slide in at home and is not allowed to crash the catcher.

      I would have no problem with this call if not for the fact that the catcher was so far up the line. There was no way the runner could have slid from that distance and had enough momentum to reach the plate. Looking at it from an extreme situation, suppose the catcher had been half way to 3B. Is the runner supposed to slide under a tag 30′ away??

      So my question is: does the runner have the right to go home standing up if the catcher is out of position? How far does the catcher have to be up the line before the runner can run through. And can you please review the general rules – at all levels – regarding the runner making contact with the glove and knocking the ball free? In this case he did not swat at the glove or turn his hip or shoulder or stray from the basepath, he just ran straight though the tag.

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        October 8, 2012

        Miketober…
        Sorry for the lagtime in answering this question.

        The tag play at home(or any other base for that matter)is easy to call and interpret as long as the umpire knows the rule he is applying.

        Most levels have different rules for your stated play…I will delve into the call from the top down.
        1) Big Leagues…you can knock the catcher into next week if you want…ie. Ray Fosse/Pete Rose collision.
        2) College rules (excluding NAIA in which that division plays by the pro rules, see #1 above)state that you can run into/collide(sometimes violently)with a fielder holding the ball as long as the contact is NOT malicious…we umps decide if it is malicious or not(the defense ALWAYS thinks it’s malicious while the offense NEVER thinks it is).
        3) High School rules dictate that IF the fielder is holding the ball, the runner MUST either slide or try to avoid the tag. IF the fielder is NOT holding the ball he must “get out of the runners way.” This leaves a very “gray area” as to the timing of the balls arrival married to the timing of the runners arrival. A violent collision(unless malicious by either player)is simply called a collision as both players are doing what they are allowed to do.
        (It should be noted that the crowd, coaches and players will raise a shit-stink depending on who gets the short end of the stick while the other side will simply intone that favorite of all baseball cliches…”it’s baseball, let ’em play!!”
        4) Little league rules I am unfamiliar with, altho, I’m betting it is pretty close to the high school rule.

        BTW…there are no distance requirements for where the fielder must/should be when the play occurs.

        I often told young umpires that you will know malicious contact when you see it. Merely raising your elbow(s)may just be the runner(or fielder)simply bracing for contact and will draw hoots and hollers from the crowd, etc. but in reality is just a collision.

        No matter what the rule and how it is judged by the ump, one side is going to think they got “hosed, big-time, by a horseshit ump.” Every time…count on it.

        Hope that answers your question…I’ll try to be more prompt next time.

        Reply
        • Miketober

          October 8, 2012

          Thanks Ed. The catcher was holding the ball, so assuming the rules in LL are similar to high school, the runner should have tried to avoid the tag, and was correctly called out.

          I assume the same is true between bases, for example first to second.

          It’s interesting that we as coaches always instruct kids to put their free hand on the glove when tagging so the ball can’t come out. I guess that is only necessary when the defender is applying the force, not the runner. But it’s still a good habit to get in to.

          Reply
    • Miketober

      May 8, 2013

      Hi Ed,

      I have a question on Interference (Rule 7.09). Let’s say we bases loaded, and the batter hits a ground ball to the SS. The runner from 2nd accidentally runs into the SS – who was in the basepath in the act of fielding the ball – and breaks up the play. (The interference is unintentional – this is a LL game.)

      I understand that the runner that collided with the SS is out and the ball is dead. The other runners return to their original bases (1st and 3rd). What I don’t know is what happens to the batter. Is he awarded 1B (pushing the runner originally on 1st to 2nd)? Or is he also called out? Like I said, the contact was not malicious.

      (If the batted ball had struck the runner going from 2nd to 3rd, that runner would be called out, dead ball, and the batter would be awarded 1st base. So I would think the call on the non-malicious collision would be about the same.)

      Thanks.

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        June 3, 2013

        Miketober…

        so sorry it has taken me so long…back to iowa for 9 days for 50 year class reunion stuff…visit my mon and siblings, etc

        better half’s daughter getting married after my return and i have LOTS of honey-do chores…anyway, here’s your answer…

        you are correct in ruling the ball dead and the runner out…

        the ump then determines where the SS would have tried to make a play(in this case either a throw to 2nd or get the B/R out at first)…he then calls that play an out as well…
        ALL runners return to the base they held prior to the interference(runner on 3b returns to 3rd, IF ump rules play would have been to 2nd then runner is out and B/R is awarded 1b on a FC)…if ump says play was going to first then B/R is out and runner on 1b is returned to 1b…

        hope that clears it up…

        and once again sorry for the delay, i will attempt to make sure it doesn’t ha[ppen again…

        keep ’em coming

        Reply
        • Miketober

          June 3, 2013

          5 stars for your answer Ed.

          That’s very interesting and perfectly logical, but I seriously doubt most LL umps would make the right call. I’ll print out your explanation and put it with my rule-book so I’m ready should that play happen again.

          Reply
          • EdtheUmp

            June 3, 2013

            M…you want a better ruling? Check this out!!

            IF the interference is by a runner that has been put out before the interference occurred…the runner closest to home is the 2nd out declared…

            think about it………….winning run on third, no outs…B/R hits a smash down first base line, 1b fields it and touches first(it’s a logical play) and then throws home to nail the winning run…the RETIRED B/R intentionally interferred(in this particular play the interference MUST be intentional unless the B/R is out of the running lane…same ruling for being out of the baseline)…the runner closest to home is declared out…

            nobody on 2 outs…sounds like something that would happen to the Rox.

            get better be ready to eject the manager and B/R…probably have to call the police to prevent the offended fans from killing you as well

            This play happened to my partner and I years ago…the offended coach was a friend of ours and didn’t like our call but after telling us he thought we were wrong, the game continued…

            later that night, said coach joined us for a couple brewskies and admitted that after going over the play in the rulebook about 10 times he realized we were correct…

            nothing feels better to an ump than to be absolutely sure of a call and then being told by the coach that we were correct…

            we had him many, many times in our career and whenever we were with him and other coaches, that play was brought up and he couldn’t praise us enough about our abilities to know how to do it right…doesn’t happen often…you gotta take the good when you can…

            hope you enjoyed that one

            Reply
    • rockymountainhigh

      July 12, 2013

      Saw a double play grounder in a game a couple of nights ago that killed the rally with runners on 1st and 2nd. Ground ball to SS, can the runner heading to 3rd intentionally kick the ball away and take the out preventing a grounder into double play???

      Reply
      • Miketober

        August 6, 2013

        RMH, Ed can weigh in on this, but I’m pretty sure the penalty on the offense would be pretty severe. I would think at the very least the runner would be out (and probably ejected from the game) and the B/R also called out, and dead ball. I’ve seen this mentioned specifically in the rules somewhere, but Ed is the ultimate authority.

        Reply
      • Miketober

        September 9, 2013

        RMH, Ed,

        I’ve been thinking about this some more, and I really like RMH’s question. Let me ask a slightly different version.
        Ground ball to SS, and the runner heading to 3rd “accidently” lets the live ball hit him. (He really did it on purpose, but is a good actor and makes it look good.) Under the rules it should be dead ball, batter gets 1B, runner on 1B gets 2B. In other words it is the same as a FC out at 3B, no GIDP. Is that right, or can the umps penalize the batting team with a second out?

        Reply
    • Miketober

      August 6, 2013

      Ed, I’ve got an obstruction question for you.

      Batter singles and tries to stretch it into a double. The throw comes in to second from the OF and is off-line slightly to the first base side. The second baseman comes off the bag to his right and tries to catch the ball and gets tangled up with the batter/runner who is in the process of sliding into second. The ball rolls away, but the B/R is pinned down by the second baseman who has fallen on top of him. The SS picks up the ball and tags the B/R. Out at second or obstruction?

      I can see it both ways. On the one hand the fielder has the right to go for the ball, and this is a bang-bang play making the contact incidental. On the other hand, the defense should not be rewarded for it’s own poor execution (off-line throw that might have been late and clumsiness on the part of the second baseman).

      Thanks.

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        November 2, 2013

        Miketober…

        sorry it has taken me this long, especially since I said I would answer this question later this morning…old age was creeping in and now it’s starting to jog…

        in your play, obstruction is the correct call…once the ball escaped the 2b he is no longer attempting to field it…incidental or not it is obstruction…

        either way you are going to get an argument…

        the obstruction call during the world series is the same philosophy for the ump…

        was the fielder attempting to field the ball?…no, he all ready had his chance…was the contact with the runner incidental?…yup, but it doesn’t matter…

        once again, sorry it took me so long to answer…

        no excuses

        Reply
    • Miketober

      November 3, 2013

      Thanks Ed. The call went against my team (runner was called out) and I did argue, but sadly to no avail.

      I like how you put it, “he (the fielder) already had his chance.” If the fielder catches the ball in either my situation or in the Sox-Cards game then the contact is okay. But once the throw escapes him he is in the way. Great principle.

      Reply
    • Miketober

      April 15, 2014

      Ed,

      Is it ever possible for a runner on 3rd to score when the batter is out on a dropped 3rd strike?

      The situation:
      Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, strike 3 swinging but a passed ball. The runner on 3rd races home before the catcher has a chance to recover the passed ball. The batter/runner does one of the following:
      (a) the batter immediately retreats to his dugout and is called out by the umpire BEFORE the runner crosses home,
      (b) the batter stands there for a minute, then retreats to his dugout AFTER the runner crosses home,
      (c) the batter runs towards 1st and is thrown out AFTER the run crosses home,
      (d) the batter stands there and is tagged out AFTER the runner crosses home.

      So I guess my question is whether the B/R being put out after a dropped 3rd is ever considered a timing play, or if it is always considered a force play.

      Thanks

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        September 8, 2014

        Miketober…

        this one is simple. A run can NEVER score when the third out of an inning is a force play. It doesn’t matter which base is involved.

        Most fans, coaches and players don’t know the REAL definition of a force play. It is when the B/R or baserunner is forced to advance to the next base.

        There are MANY scenarios that I’ve seen and been questioned on during the years. I try to explain to a coach why or why not the run does or does not count. Even with an explaination they have their doubts.

        This is, IMHO, and that of other umpires, the MOST important rule to know.

        When a run does or does not count is the most important aspect of the game as runs determine who wins.

        This occurs most of the time when you have a hit-and-run. But, there are many, many more scenarios that constantly confuse coaches.

        Example 1: bases loaded, 1 out, fly ball caught, runner on 3rd tags up and scores BEFORE the runner on 2nd is called out as the OFer threw the ball to an IFer on the base…run scores? … yes, altho most coaches would argue that the 3rd out is a force play…”he was forced to return to the base, so it’s a forceout”…nope, the baserunner was not(by rule) forced to advance to the next base…he doesn’t have to advance, therefore it’s a timing play…if the runner on 3rd scored before the IFer caught the ball the run counts.

        I could conservatively give you 20 different examples of runs counting or not counting depending on the circumstances…this is why most good umpires believe this is the most import rule to know frontwards and backwards.

        Reply
    • rockymountainhigh

      April 15, 2014

      I just saw on Twitter: I just saw an umpire toss the PA announcer for saying “now batting with 4 outs” after a questionable call.

      I thought umpires have no control over PA announcers. If a punishment was coming, it would come from the MLB office for publicly criticizing an umpire.

      Reply
    • Miketober

      April 23, 2014

      Ed, I’ve got another one that happened in a little league game.

      Runners on 2nd and 3rd, 2 outs.
      Batter hits a ground ball to the SS who fields it, tags the runner advancing from 2nd, and then for good measure throws to 1B in time to retire the B/R too.
      Let’s just say for the sake of argument that the runner from 3B somehow crosses HP before the tag is made. Does the run count?

      The offensive team argues that since it was a timing play, the run counts if he crosses the plate before the tag. The defensive team argues that the B/R would have been out on the force at first, so timing is irrelevant; and why should the defense be penalized for collecting extra outs.

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        September 8, 2014

        Miketober…

        another GREAT question. This play actually happened to me as the base umpire in a junior college game.

        The correct ruling(which I got right)follows: when multiple outs result in more than 3 out being recorded the defense can choose which out to take.

        Obviously the defense would choose the out at first which is a forceout causing the run to not count.

        The scenario is quite common. In your play a good SS would not only attempt to tag the runner but would also throw to first. Maybe it was a swipe tag on the runner, after the play is over the umpire may have said you missed the tag.

        Better to be safe and throw to first in case what I posited happens.

        Only 4 1/2 months late on the answer. Sorry.

        Keep ’em coming!

        Reply
    • Miketober

      May 19, 2014

      Ed,

      Question on time out.
      Youth game, 2 umpire crew working home plate and behind 2nd base. Runners on 2nd and 3rd, no outs. One of the runners requests time from the 2nd base ump, and time is granted by that ump who raises his hands. But at the same instant the pitcher delivers the pitch and a triple play results. The HP ump did not see the 2nd base ump start to call time and did not call a no-pitch. The umps confer with each other and rule that the HP ump is the head ump and only he can grant t/o so the triple play is upheld.

      Did the umps make the right call? Is the HP ump the master ump, and does he have to notice another ump calling for t/o for it to stand, or can any ump call t/o resulting in an immediate dead ball?

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        May 20, 2014

        Miketober…good question.

        The rule and the way it is handled is the same at ALL levels of baseball(and softball, for that matter).

        In a word, the call was incorrect. Once ANY ump raises his arms and calls time the ball is dead no matter what happens(even if the pitch is in the air towards home plate). It’s an easy explanation to the poor coach who thought he had a triple play…if the hitter had hit a 3-run homer it would not have counted either. He will not be happy but if he cannot see the logic in the ruling he has no business coaching.

        The home plate umpire is the crew chief in all games(unless it’s the major league).

        Hopefully the base ump never lowered his arms(he probably did)and trots into the infield with his arms still raised, stating that he had time and there was no pitch(or play)as the ball is/was dead.

        That is the beauty(and curse)of being an ump…it is a very easy call and ruling(unless you don’t know the rules). IF you know how the ruling should be called and handled, you and your partner are the ONLY two people who know that…all others will think the two of you are idiots.

        They would all be wrong.

        Reply
      • ProgMatinee

        May 20, 2014

        Why in the world would a runner on second base be calling time out while a pitcher is in wind up? Was the runner on the base or leading off? I call shenanigans and rule or no rule karma bit them. Were these 5 year olds? How do you get into a non-force triple play? LOL.

        Reply
        • ProgMatinee

          May 20, 2014

          To further explain, there is more and more inappropriate gamesmanship going on in youth sports now. Every week I see some new scheme on youtube or yahoo being employed to trick the other team or trick the umpires. I’m betting the kid on second is trying to either relay stolen signs to the batter or confuse the pitcher or somehow mitigate a possible bad scenario against them. If the kid at bat hit a double to drive them all home, would they be complaining?

          Reply
        • Miketober

          May 20, 2014

          No shenanegans. It turns out the 2nd base bag was off its base. Yet another reason why it should have been a dead ball.

          Usually in a situation like this t/o is called so someone can tie their shoe. The vast majority of the kids and coaches in our league play an honest game, so there was no trickery involved. I won’t comment on the triple play itself because the memory is too painful to relive.

          Reply
    • Miketober

      May 23, 2014

      Hey Ed,

      Interference question.
      Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hits soft liner over foul territory down 3B line. The runner on 3B sticks out his hand and catches the ball (before it hits the ground), figuring it’s a foul ball so it’s dead or something. I’m not sure what he was thinking. The ball may have been catchable, probably not, by a diving 3B-man.

      Here is how I think the call should go, please tell me if I am right.
      If ump thinks it’s not catchable, Runner on 3B is out. Batter awarded 1B, other 2 runners advance to 2B and 3B.
      If ump thinks it is catchable, double play. Runner on 3B out, batter out.

      The only thing I’m not sure about is whether the batter gets 1B. That would be the ruling if the runner was struck by a batted ball, say a grounder between 2nd and 3rd. But this ball was over foul territory. But there is no such thing as a foul fly ball, right?

      What if it had been a foul ground ball, and the runner had been the first thing it struck?
      Does it matter if the runner was in contact with the bag?

      Thanks.

      Reply
    • EdtheUmp

      September 8, 2014

      Miketober…

      I’m so sorry for not answering this sooner.

      A very, very good question and scenario. This play would never happen in the MLs but certainly could at the LL or even the HS level.

      The easiest way to begin is simple. ANYTIME a player on offense intentionally touches or is touched by a batted(in fair territory) or thrown ball in order to “gain an advantage” (the idiot factor comes in here) there is going to be an out called, maybe two(never three).

      A good umpire, if the ball is foul, would simply kill the ball and make a decision on whether the ball could have been caught(giving any “gray area” advantage to the defense)or not.

      The coach of the offending team doesn’t have a leg to stand on…the umpire simply can say that in his opinion the ball had a chance of being caught…if the ball could NOT have been caught you simply tell the offense coach the same thing, the ball could not have been caught.

      You are correct in determining that the runner is out AND the batter is out even if the ball is foul, as long as the ball is catchable…although you can’t use the phrase, idiot baserunner, it would be one I could use with the coach. With young kids, using that term would not be ethical(although an umpire would file this play in his “stories” folder).

      Commenting on your final questions…you are correct that there is no such thing as a foul fly ball. To the RWOers reading this and rolling their eyes or scrunching their nose saying “that Ed the Ump must be a real idiot, everyone knows a ball going back over the screen is a foul fly ball.” WRONG! A batted ball in the air is not foul ball UNTIL touched by a player in foul ground or touches anything else while on or over foul ground.(think high fly ball in foul territory that is blown back into fair ground).

      On a batted ball that has touched the ground, the runner being hit is NEVER called out as long as the ball is judged to have been foul.

      On or off the bag has no bearing on the call.

      The umpire judges all ground balls on where the ball was in relation to the foul lines(and bag sometimes).

      Once again, sorry for not seeing that one of our commenters had asked for a clarification.

      It won’t happen again, I promise.

      Reply
      • Miketober

        September 8, 2014

        Ed,
        Follow-up question. Coaches always tell their players when leading off 3B to stay on the foul side of the 3B line. Clearly that would prevent them from being struck by a fair ball hot smash down the line, either a liner or a grounder. They would also be okay if struck by a foul grounder down the line (assuming it bounced once in foul territory before it hit them) — Right?
        But would it protect them if struck by a line drive over foul ground? From your explanation above it sounds like they would still be out if struck by the liner even if over foul ground.

        Thanks!

        Reply
    • Miketober

      September 8, 2014

      Thanks a lot Ed! No worries on the delay.

      Would you mind scrolling up and answering the other 2 questions I posted there which you may have missed? I am particularly interested in the 2-out GIDP where the runner from 3B crosses home.

      Reply
    • Brian

      September 27, 2016

      Runners at first and second, one out. Routine flyball to short left field CALLED OUT. Fielder drops ball before having possession. Fielder picks up ball and throws to second tagging runner who stayed on base. Ends game.

      Reply
      • EdtheUmp

        November 11, 2016

        Brian…The only way this play happens the way you present it is at the amateur level. If the umpire makes a call of out, there is no review possible so the runner is entitled to stay where he is. Two out, runners at first and second.
        At the ML level it gets a little confusing. After review, the call would be reversed and all runners would be awarded one base…bases loaded, one out.

        Reply
    • Dreama

      December 3, 2016

      I’m not easily imrepssed but you’ve done it with that posting.

      Reply
    • Dash

      December 3, 2016

      OK, you probably already know I’m crazy about Grey shadows. This is gorgeous on you Skyfall opened on the last week of October here and I managed to catch it. I think yo7u28#1&;ll like it. I took your suggestion and watched Looper. It was quite interesting.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

(required)

(required)