[Q] In a game with the Mets, a Mets runner was out when he was hit with a batted ball.
Changing the scenario a bit to have a runner on third and the infield pulled in and playing on the grass. If the ball gets past Scutaro and hits the runner is the ruling the same or different. (fcrockiesfan)
[A] fc…a very good question and one the fans would undoubtedly be confused about if it happened.
Once again the simple answer is that the ball is in play as if nothing happened.
Once a batted ball passes any infielder who does not have a chance to field the ball and hits either an umpire or runner the ball remains alive and in play.
BTW, in the original play where the fielders are playing back, most fans(coaches and players as well)aren’t aware that the runner that is hit by the batted ball is declared out and the ball is dead, but additionally the batter is awarded a base hit.
Good question…keep ‘em coming.
Posted in: Ask Ed The Ump